4/8/2017 - Start of 3rd Cycle


One would hope that the two weeks between infusions would be quiet with no, what I call, "side-shows". But, alas, it's always something. My full week off from 3/27-4/2 was quiet. I don't have to take any meds as it is a time for my body to recoup and gear up for the next 2-week cycle. I eat a lot as I usually lose a few pounds during treatment weeks but I put it right back on. It's important. Kim is always monitoring my medications and "side-show" issues in an extensive notebook so that we can review from week to week. We've been able to cut back on post-infusion medications as I haven't really had any bad nausea and definitely no vomiting. The post-meds have side effects so the minimum that I take, the better.

I've had some pain in my calf where the cancer in the tibia is. It has always felt like a muscle knot right at the top. I've tried stretching and using a runners roller but nothing could work it out. Kim and Emily bought a 4-prong hand massager for my back (just for relaxation) and it felt really good. I asked Emily to try it on my calf and that felt great! I had her push where it hurt and, once I got over the initial pain, I had her rub it harder and harder. By the next day, the pain was gone! Unbelievable! Well, back to, it's always something. The day after that, the bottom part of my leg was swollen. I thought my leg was turning into the Elephant Man. We contacted the research team and they scheduled me for an ultrasound that afternoon. After it was done, I told Kim that I had a bad feeling. Sure enough, the research nurse called and said get to Hopkins in Baltimore. Extensive blood clot. Need to go in to start treatments.

So, we got there and met with the nurse and he said, "OK, I am going to teach you how to do the shots in your stomach." WTH? Sheesh, the hits keep coming. I will say, once I got over the initial shock, it really wasn't that hard. The needle is about 1/2 an inch and micro-fine. I've done it about 8 times so far. I don't enjoy it but it is definitely helping my leg. I would say it's about 90-95% back to normal.


The speculation is that the blood clot was caused by the cancer die-off in my leg....hopefully. We think that the pain I was feeling in my calf was the blood clot and when Emily pushed it out, it went further down my leg and caused the swelling. Very glad it did! It's funny how stuff like this happens for a reason. Right now, my leg feels great. No pain, just some normal tightness in the back.

We finally have radiation scheduled on my leg in a couple weeks. I'll get 5 intense treatments that should really knock the cancer back and, over time, start to regenerate some healthy cells. Perhaps in a couple months I can walk without crutches. That's the plan and the hope. It will really help with our mental psyche if I could move around normally. Not run, but just being able to go for a walk will do wonders.

After this full cycle and right before the next, I get my first set of CT scans done to compare with the initial ones. God willing, I hope the tumors have shrunk and we keep moving forward with the treatments. I feel great, I'm still clinging to some of my hair, and we are persevering, taking each day as it comes. It's been a tough week on Kim as Emily was out of school most of the week with a virus, Nathan had his wisdom teeth out and the recovery on that took many days. Throw in my blood clot and she has hit the trifecta! It's amazing how strong she is, worrying about all of us....and her parents! She is completely awesome!

All the best to everyone! Thanks for all of the love and support! Our card board has filled up! Enjoy the beautiful weather and baseball season!


Much love,

Kevin and Kim