6/17/2017 - One More Treatment Before Next Scan

It's been a busy 6 weeks (since our last post) but I am grateful to say that there were more positives than negatives. If you've been following along with our story, you'll recall that in each chapter there have been different issues with getting IVs in my arms. Chemo burn has been the top vote getter as I got that twice and it takes weeks for it to finally disappear. When you are getting four drugs pushed through you over the course of 5 hours, the veins get weak and start to collapse over time. This has always been an added stress to getting the treatments.

Well, we are proud to report that I have been outfitted with a state of the art "PowerPort"! We tried multiple times to get this done but each time it was derailed (blood clot/sickness). Four weeks ago I finally got the procedure done and it has made infusions so much easier. I'm glad we didn't research what was actually going to be inserted or I might have freaked a little bit so we waited until I was prepped for surgery so I couldn't bolt. I'm exaggerating but I didn't realize the process was that involved. This PowerPort is inserted into the right side of my chest so I now have a nice sized lump there. The catheter runs up towards my neck, over my clavicle and then down, somehow attaching to a vein or artery. But the procedure went smooth, no reactions or healing issues. I can't do any heavy lifting for a couple more weeks so that has been a huge drawback but I should be able to workout soon.


The purple part and catheter is inside my chest. The yellow airplane thingy is what they use to attach for infusions. It locks on. Pretty cool.

So, for the past three infusions, the PowerPort has been used and it has simply been great. It makes a difference having both arms free to move for 5 hours. They also use it to draw blood when we go in so the arm pokes are now limited. It may be coincidence but ever since the port has been used, I no longer need to take any nausea meds after a treatment and I have cut the steroid meds by more than half. It's nice not having to pop so many pills.

During the week of July 4th, I will get another scan. Prayers needed for another positive result. The last scan, which was the first scan, resulted in an 11% reduction in the tumors. We obviously want this trend to continue and we see no reason why it shouldn't, especially with all of the positive thoughts coming our way. My tumor marker number is now back to almost where it was originally from the first test back in February. They monitor this number each round as it is an easy way to track the amount of disease in the blood. The first number was 187. It had gone up to about 300 (which we think was from drinking too much green tea....yeah we found that tidbit on the Internet), but it's been around 240 for the past two tests. Now it's back down to 196 which is a 40 point drop and really good news. Eventually, we need this baby down to under 100. It will probably never be in the normal range (under 38) unless everything gets wiped out but who knows?

Had a couple issues to contend with during this cycle. White blood counts have been steadily dropping. I get a blood test run the day before each infusion to check those counts among other variables. My count dropped to 600 which is really low. They won't do an infusion unless it's at least 900. So we had to go in early the next morning before the infusion and get another test run. The number jumped up to 1100! They said 24 hours can make all the difference and they were right. So we were able to get the infusion. Not being able to work out doesn't help this number but this week, I decided to put my big boy pants on and go for long walks with the brace. I'm still not cleared for walking (too much) without it but I've worked up to a mile and a half with it on. Yeah, it takes forever but it keeps the heart rate up which helps to generate white blood cells.

The other issue has been bowels (I know, TMI) and I think I have to blame the port on this one. Ever since I got it, I've had a lot of pain. Gas-X relieved it a little but not enough. Kim, having a PhD in Google Medical, found out that people that are lactose intolerant have exaggerated amounts of digestive pain from chemotherapy, even if you aren't consuming dairy (which I don't). So, I found some natural lactose pills (that has other enzymes) and the problems have almost gone away. Really weird but glad she figured it out. Chemo does a number on your digestive system so you have to stay on top of things before problems start. That's also another good reason to be able to cut back on the post-chemo meds as they just add to these issues.

My leg blood clot has gotten a lot better. I'm still on two shots a day but we hope to be able to cut it down to one shot in another month. You kind of get used to it but it's hard to control the bruising. Each shot is done the same way (ice, grab skin, shot, ice). Sometimes it bruises; sometimes it doesn't. But it's been better since we started the ice.

Lastly, we have been approved to get some genetic testing done. I won't go into it yet as the tests may come back negative (only 2% test positive) but if any of them come back positive for me, it will make a huge difference in our treatment options. They have drugs that are very effective against certain mutations. Hopkins is on the bleeding edge of this so, again, we know we are in the best place! We should know more in a few weeks so stay tuned!

As for my day job, I finally have some normalcy. Over the past month or so, I have felt comfortable enough to head out to customer sites and just having normal work weeks. The issue has mainly been the leg but I am now doing what I used to do (work-wise) before all of this crap hit us. Reducing the amount of post-meds helps cut back on the amount of downtime I have after an infusion. Life is getting better!

Our oldest son, Nathan, graduated from Linganore High School a few weeks ago. We are so proud of him for graduating with high honors. He is now also working at Dutch's Daughter in Frederick and he loves it. With more responsibilities, he is learning a lot and, ultimately, making more money.


Ryan is having a blast playing baseball this season. He plays in the Frederick Babe Ruth league. I have a fond place in my heart for Babe Ruth baseball as I played a couple seasons in Beltsville many, many years ago. It's an important part of growing up and we love that he is part of a team with close friends that have played together for almost 4 years now. He is also working as a host at J&Ps in Mount Airy in his first real job. Say "Hi!" to him when you stop in.

Emily is hardly ever home. She has so many things that keep her busy. I think I've seen her for about 30 minutes this week. She was with her friends last night taking a hip hop dance class. I don't know how Kim comes up with this stuff. She's also busy taking gymnastic lessons so that she'll be ready for the next cheer season. She's turning 12 next month so she's not working....yet.

Kim has so many things going on. Juggling the antics in this house, taking care of me, and caring for her Dad. I honestly don't know how she does it. She has been busy getting the numerous projects done in the house (painting, drywall, electrical work, septic, plumbing, you name it). No, she's not doing all the work herself but every time I turn around there's another contractor here. Finding good people to do good work is a tough job. But she found some wonderful folks to get the jobs done. I'm amazed at what she has been able to accomplish in such a short amount of time. I know I say this in each blog but I would truly be lost in this fight without her. She's by my side for each infusion. Sometimes it's a 12 hour day. She writes everything down in her journal about my medications, how I feel, and milestones. I'm Blessed with a wonderful wife, terrific children and I thank God for each day I have with them.

We hope everyone is having a great start to summer! Keep safe and take some time off to relax and enjoy life!


With love,

Kevin and Kim